Protected Person Query

Hi,
My wife and I have been caring for my mum for the past 5 years. Mum is on a L4 package, has dementia and is bed ridden.My wife has arrived in Australia 5 years ago and in October 2019 received her permanent partner visa. We applied for a carer payment for her but she was rejected as she need to now hold this visa for more than 2 years to be able to receive a carer payment. As a result of this decision I have applied for a carer payment since I am not working. I have applied for and am receiving a Carer Allowance since May 2019.

I have been living with mum for the past 25 years and helping her with many things prior to her becoming sick and needing 24 hour care 5 years ago.

I would like to know if my mum was placed into a nursing home in the future because we were not able to manage then are we able to claim protected person status???

Is a protected person someone who has been eligible to receive Centrelink Benefits for 2 years or more? If so which benefit? Is it a carer payment only OR is a Carer Allowance payment part of the consideration? Please explain to me.

If you think that we fulfill Protected Persons status is this something we need to apply for etc???
Yours thankfully
Tony

Hello all, my understanding is that Carer’s Allowance is NOT an income support payment. Carer’s Pension is. A list of income support payments can be found at:

Hi Malyut2,